SPRING DISCOUNT
Get 30% off on toolkits, course exams, and Conformio yearly plans.
Limited-time offer – ends April 25, 2024
Use promo code:
SPRING30

Expert Advice Community

About implementing ISO 27001

Guest user Created:   Sep 04, 2020 Last commented:   Sep 04, 2020

About implementing ISO 27001

1 - My situation is that I am an intern at a small company whose servers are in the cloud (***), and they have a website of their own. So my question is implementing ISO27001 would be meaningless for such architecture, if not how should i define the context of the organization in such a case.

2 - Also what sources would help a beginner like me to achieve this implementation of the standard. By the way, I started the course online in advisera titled "ISO 27001:2013 Lead Implementer Course" is it a good start?

0 0

Assign topic to the user

ISO 27001 DOCUMENTATION TOOLKIT

Step-by-step implementation for smaller companies.

ISO 27001 DOCUMENTATION TOOLKIT

Step-by-step implementation for smaller companies.

Expert
Rhand Leal Sep 04, 2020

1 - My situation is that I am an intern at a small company whose servers are in the cloud (***), and they have a website of their own. So my question is implementing ISO27001 would be meaningless for such architecture, if not how should i define the context of the organization in such a case.

SO 27001 aims the protection of information regardless of where it is, so it is also applicable when the information to be protected is hosted in a cloud solution.

The definition of the ISMS scope when information is on a cloud solution will depend on the control you have over the cloud

• for IaaS, the scope excludes physical infrastructure and virtual machines
  • for PaaS, the scope excludes virtual servers, and, to some degree, applications
  • for SaaS, the scope excludes datacenter facilities’ physical location, hardware, and software

This article will provide you a further explanation about defining a scope considering cloud models: